My review of Twitter

I created a Twitter account last week (what a sad day that was), and I strongly dislike the platform. Here is why.

I want to mention that I am in the process of deactivating and deleting my twitter account, even though it is only a week old.

The first thing I noticed when creating my account is that Twitter was that I was asked for my areas of interest, something I was not willing to give. I was able to get around it by changing the URL to just twitter.com. As I followed just 2 people, I started to get unrelated suggestions breaking up the list of tweets for a user. This is easily migrated by using a 3rd party app Twidere X, or by using Nitter. However, the fact that they add it in the first place makes me unhappy.

The next thing I noticed, a day later, is that I started getting emails about everything happening on Twitter, even after turning off all email notifications, something that made me leave the platform.

As I was signing into Twidere X, a third party client on f-droid, I noticed that there was no option to sign in with Google (which was what I used to sign up), making me have to create a password.

In summary, I have had nothing but a bad experience with Twitter. I am going to continue to use Mastodon and follow Twitter users with Birdsite Live. While I don’t get the ability to like and comment on tweets, I consider it a small price to pay to use a platform that is what I think twitter should be. And if laws regarding open interoperability come to be, I may be able to experience the best of both worlds.

Update: I have successfully deactivated my twitter account.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started